life2theplus

Time with Great-Gram

Posted on: October 11, 2011

20111011-144154.jpg

My grandmother has played a very big part in my life. I am feeling so very blessed today that Grace has been able to spend time with her great grandmother. I met my great grandparents but they passed away when I was young however I do remember them. I hope Grace has fond memories of her great grandmothers. Her other great grandmother lives a few states away but has plans to relocate to Florida which will be such a blessing when our Oklahoma and Colorado family move here.
My parents are divorced and remarried. My mom, brother and I lived with my grammy and pop (my moms parents) for a time during my parents separation. I always felt at home with them and was NEVER hungry. My grammy would feed you until you just about popped. We all joke about how she would take you to the hospital for just about anything. She is also a bit of a hypochondriac and germophobe. She would always make us wash our hands and say “don’t touch that!”
My grammy has Alzheimers which is difficult to handle and understand sometimes. I am just thankful she still remembers most of our names and she certainly hasn’t forgotten Grace’s face. She just lights up at the sight o her great granddaughter. It makes my heart so happy! And now here come my tears!
Do any of you have any special memories of great grandparents? Any family far away and missing them? Anyone dealing with alzheimer disease? I would love to hear what you have to say as well!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Kathleen Emberlin: What a great blog!!! And the pumpkin bars are great too!
  • Christina: this is christina not christian to clarify..
  • Christian: That's so awesome that she likes baking! I wouldn't have thought she would sit still in one place long enough for you to cook something

Categories

